Login NowClose 
Sign In to shelbynews.com           
Forgot Password
or if you have not registered since 8/22/18
Click Here to Create an Account

Shelby County basketball stars honored for great performances

Morristown junior guard Logan Laster uses a pump fake in a game this past season. Laster will participate in the IBCA Top 100 Underclassmen Showcase on July 9.


Morristown junior guard Logan Laster, among others from the county, has been rewarded for his special play this past season. 

Laster was invited to attend the IBCA Top 100 Underclassmen Showcase on July 9. More information about the event will be released at a later date. 

Laster’s teammates, seniors Hayden Langkabel and Eli Streeval, were also recently honored for their outstanding performances en route to the Class A state title. 

Langkabel was named Second Team All-State by the Associated Press earlier this week. Streeval was named a high honorable mention. 

Shelbyville junior guard Zach Kuhn, who was named a Junior Indiana All-Star this season, was also named an AP All-State High Honorable Mention. 

The AP First Team includes Romeo Langford of New Albany, Robert Phinisee of McCutcheon, Eric Hunter of Tindley, Aaron Henry of Ben Davis and Mekhi Lairy of Evansville Bosse. Joining Langkabel on the Second Team is Trayce Jackson-Davis of Center Grove, Damezi Anderson of South Bend Riley, Keion Brooks of Ft. Wayne North and Mason Gillis of New Castle. The Third Team includes Isaiah Thompson of Zionsville, Davis Bell of Warren Central, Kevin Easley of Lawrence North and Chance Coyle of Bloomington South. 

The full High Honorable Mention list includes: Alec Burton, Danville; Jalen Moore, Cloverdale; Trey Galloway, Culver Academy; John Michael Mulloy, Carmel; Armaan Franklin, Indianapolis Cathedral; Brandon Newman, Valparaiso; Gavin Bizeau, Plainfield; Tyler Watson, Tri-West; Spencer Ballinger, Oak Hill; D’Avion Washington, Terre Haute South; Colin York, Greencastle; Jarron Coleman, Indianapolis Cathedral; Alex Hemenway, Castle; Luke Gohmann, Floyd Central; Derrick Briscoe, Indianapolis Attucks; Chandler Pitts, Maconaquah; Craig Porter, Terre Haute South; Dean Tate, Warren Central; Cameron Alford, Brownsburg.

Spencer Pettit, Covington; Austin Boucher, Fort Wayne North; Asher Blum, Fort Wayne South; Chaz Birchfield, Hamilton Southeastern; Anthony Barnard, Kokomo; Johnny Barnard, Merrillville; Carson Blair, Southwood; Jaylin Chinn, Evansville Bosse; Cobie Barnes, Floyd Central; Carson Barrett, Lafayette Central Catholic; Eli Streeval, Morristown; Luke Bumbalough, New Castle; Logan Blake, Tri-West; Robin Duncan, Evansville Harrison; DeAndre Gholston, Gary 21st Century; Christian Harvey, Richmond; Zach Kuhn, Shelbyville.