Login NowClose 
Sign In to shelbynews.com           
Forgot Password
or if you have not registered since 8/22/18
Click Here to Create an Account

Streeval, Langkabel to play in All-Star Classic


Knightstown’s Historic Hoosier Gym, movie home of the “Hoosiers” Hickory Huskers, is again the site of the Hoosiers’ Reunion All-Star Classic.

The 13th annual girls’ and boys’ doubleheader classic will take place on June 1.

The girls game starts at 6:00 p.m. The boys’ game follows at 8:00 p.m. The boys’ coaches are Daniel Cox of New Castle and Jerry Hoover of Blackford. Coaching the girls’ teams are Julie Shelton, Mt. Vernon (Fortville) and Tod Windlan.

The evening is highlighted by 2018 Indiana Miss Basketball Amy Dilk (17.8 ppg) of Carmel who will attend the University of Michigan. There are nine other girls who will participate on June 1 that were also selected as 2018 Indiana All-Stars — Angel Baker (21.7), Pike (Wright State) • Mackenzie Blazek (18.4), Whiteland (Illinois) • Nia Clark (16.2), Ben Davis (Miami, OH) • Katlyn Gilbert (18.5), Heritage Christian (Notre Dame) • Cassidy Hardin (17.3), Center Grove (Purdue) • Emily Kiser (21.1), Noblesville (Michigan) • Tomi Taiwo (16.4), Carmel (Iowa) • Kayana Traylor (21.4), Martinsville (Purdue) • Michaela White (15), Pike (Indiana State).

There are four other players who are committed to NCAA Division I Universities. They are Breanna Boles, Lapel (Indiana State) • Courtney Krol, Chesterton (DePaul) • Blake Smith, Carmel (Ball State) and Asia Strong, South Bend Riley (Bradley).

The Girls’ game also features an IHSAA State Champion — Rachel Stewart of 2017 2A Champion Eastern — along with two others that were state finalist — Kyra Whitaker of 2018 3A runner-up Greensburg and Cali Nolot of 2017 3A runner-up North Harrison.

The Boys’ game, the second of this Hoosiers’ Reunion All-Star Classic doubleheader, features two future Indiana Hoosiers — Damezi Anderson (19.1 ppg), South Bend Riley and Robert Phinisee (29.4), McCutcheon. They are joined by a half dozen more 2018 Indiana All-Stars — Gavin Bizeau (22), Plainfield (Duquesne) • Jarron Coleman (17.2), Indianapolis Cathedral (Ball State) • Kevin Easley (19), Lawrence North (Tennessee Chattanooga) • Mekhi Lairy (26.2), Evansville Bosse (Miami, OH) • De’Avion Washington (20.7), Terre Haute South (Indiana State) and Dean Tate of 2018 4A State Champion Warren Central.

Five more boys are headed to NCAA Division I Colleges.

Two were members of 2017 IHSAA State Champion teams — Jamal Harris of 3A Indianapolis Crispus Attucks (New Orleans) and Landon Weins of 2A Frankton (Morehead State).

The other three are Deandre Gholston, Gary 21st Century (Kent State), Jack Hansen Guerin Catholic (IUPUI) and Myja White, Brebeuf Jesuit (Miami, OH).

Along with Tate, three others were 2018 IHSAA State Champions — Caleb Middlesworth of 2A Oak Hill plus Hayden Langkabel and Eli Streeval of Class A Morristown.

Cole Jenkins was a 2018 4A runner-up with Carmel.

Coordinating the event are Kip Wesner, publisher of Hoosier Basketball Magazine and Bob Garner, events coordinator of the Historic Hoosier Gym in Knightstown.

To purchase tickets (there are only 600 seats - all reserved) call 317-925-8200 or 765-465-2569 or email hoosierbbllmag@att.net.