Login NowClose 
Sign In to shelbynews.com           
Forgot Password
or if you have not registered since 8/22/18
Click Here to Create an Account

IHSAA releases postseason football draw

Triton Central’s Keaton Kermode (2) and Josh Mullen (56) celebrate a touchdown this season. The TC and Shelbyville football teams learned their postseason fates Sunday as the IHSAA released tournament pairings for the upcoming state tournament.

By KRIS MILLS - kmills@shelbynews.com

The 46th annual IHSAA state tournament will begin Oct. 19 with first round games in all classes except 6A, which has the week off. Sectional semifinal games will be played on Oct. 26, sectional championship games on Nov. 2, regionals on Nov. 9, semistates on Nov. 16 and the state championship games on Nov. 23‐24.

The 12 teams earning a berth in the state finals will play on Thanksgiving weekend at Lucas Oil Stadium. The state championship games alternate each year as the Class 2A, 4A and 6A games will be played on Friday, Nov. 23 while the 1A, 3A and 5A contests are set for Saturday, Nov. 24, according to the IHSAA.

Shelbyville in Sectional 22

The Golden Bears (1-7) open sectional play with a familiar foe. Mt. Vernon, which beat SHS in the sectional last season, beat the Golden Bears 62-7 in Week 8. The teams will meet again on Oct. 19 in the first round of the postseason.

Shelbyville will need to slow MV’s run game to advance. The Marauders have great balance and become hard to stop when churning up yardage with the Cole brothers.

Other opening round games in the sectional include Greenwood (2-6) against New Castle (4-4), Beech Grove (6-2) against No. 9 Mooresville (7-1) and Richmond (1-7) against Connersville (0-8).

Mt. Vernon would be my sectional favorite at this point. The Marauders have won three consecutive games and have a veteran leader in Mike Kirschner. Beech Grove and Mooresville are also strong this season. Mt. Vernon over Beech Grove in the final, 28-24. 

Intrasectional Meetings

Aug. 17: Richmond 34, Connersville 16; Sep. 7: Mooresville 49, Greenwood 14; Sep. 7: New Castle 41, Shelbyville 18; Sep. 28: Mount Vernon 43, New Castle 16; Oct. 5: Mount Vernon 62, Shelbyville 7.

Triton Central in Sectional 37

The Class 2A No. 5 Tigers will play Milan (5-3) in the first round of Sectional 37. The Indians won five straight games before a loss last week to 2A Providence.

Other meetings in the first round of the sectional include Heritage Christian (4-4) against Eastern Hancock (3-5), Scecina (7-1) against Centerville (5-3) and Union County (4-4) against Knightstown (7-1).

There is something different about the Tigers this season. There is a certain belief and a sense of confidence that surrounds the team. I am going to take the Tigers over Scecina in the sectional final, 21-14.

Intrasectional Meetings

Sept. 1: Knightstown 34, Union County 28; Sept. 7: Heritage Christian 33, Eastern Hancock 6; Sept. 14: Knightstown 21, Eastern Hancock 8; Sept. 28: Centerville 27, Union County 8; Sept. 28: Scecina 20, Triton Central 0.

Defending Sectional Champions

6A: Avon, Ben Davis, Carmel, Center Grove, Crown Point, Fishers, Fort Wayne Snider, Penn.

5A: Bloomington South, Columbus East, Concord, Indianapolis Cathedral, Kokomo, Michigan City, Terre Haute North Vigo, Zionsville.

4A: Angola, East Central, Evansville Central, Fort Wayne Bishop Dwenger, Greenwood Community, Lowell, Mississinewa, New Prairie.

3A: Brebeuf Jesuit, Danville Community, Evansville Memorial, Fort Wayne Bishop Luers, Indianapolis Bishop Chatard, Lawrenceburg, Mishawaka Marian, West Lafayette.

2A: Eastbrook, Indianapolis Scecina, Lapel, North Newton, Providence, Southridge, Western Boone, Woodlan.

A: Eastern Green Fountain Central, Indianapolis Arlington, Indianapolis Lutheran, LaVille, Monroe Central, Pioneer, Southwood.

Schools Entered

319 schools. 313 games will be played over the six‐week tournament.

Schools Entered for First Time 

Parke Heritage

Traders Point Christian Academy

Schools Playing Up One Class (Success Factor)

Fort Wayne Snider (Class 6A Sectional 3).

Linton‐Stockton (Class 2A, Sectional 40).

Monrovia (Class 3A, Sectional 30).

Roncalli (Class 5A, Sectional 13).

Schools Remaining in Higher Class

Columbus East (Class 5A, Sectional 15).

New Palestine (Class 5A, Sectional 12).

Most State Championships

13: Indianapolis Bishop Chatard

12: Indianapolis Cathedral

11: Fort Wayne Bishop Luers

9: Ben Davis, Roncalli, Sheridan

8: Carmel, Warren Central

7: Lafayette Central Catholic

5: Indianapolis Cardinal Ritter, Penn

All‐Time Consecutive Tournament Victories

32: Indianapolis Cathedral, 2010‐15.

26: Fort Wayne Bishop Luers, 2009‐13; Warren Central, 2003‐07.

25: Lafayette Central Catholic, 2009‐13.

23: Roncalli, 2002‐05; Sheridan, 2005‐08.

22: Indianapolis Bishop Chatard, 2001‐04; Penn, 1995‐98.

21: Indianapolis Bishop Chatard, 2010‐13.

Note: Information and statistics for this article were pulled from the IHSAA and John Harrell’s football website.

Kris Mills is the Sports editor of The Shelbyville News. Follow Kris on Twitter @KrisMills37.