Login NowClose 
Sign In to shelbynews.com           
Forgot Password
or if you have not registered since 8/22/18
Click Here to Create an Account

Shelbyville represented on Silver Anniversary Team

By KRIS MILLS - kmills@shelbynews.com

The Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame recently announced its annual Silver Anniversary Team. The team is made up of 18 players who played high school basketball 25 years ago.

From Shelbyville, Danny Moore was named to this year’s Silver Anniversary Team.

The team includes 10 members named to the 1994 Indiana All-Star squad. Eight other all-state players are included to recognize the top of Indiana’s high school class of 1994.

1994 Indiana All-Stars include Mr. Basketball Bryce Drew along with Tim Bishop, Scott Combs, Tige Darner, Sean Daugherty, Brien Hanley, Shane Miller, Lee Nailon, Bonzi Wells and LaDrell Whitehead.

The remaining eight, named to various all-state teams are: Aaron Brown, Damon Cobb, Moore, Dan Muller, Cory Norman, Joe Sibbitt, Jamie Uptgraft and Russ Yoder.

All Men’s Silver Anniversary Team members will be honored at the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame’s 58th Annual Men’s Awards Banquet on Wednesday, March 20, 2019.

Danny Moore notes

Moore was AP Third Team All-State, IBCA honorable mention all-state and Bloomington Herald Times 1st team all-state as a senior. He averaged 21.0 points and nine rebounds as senior for 13-12 regional champions and averaged 20.4 points and eight rebounds as a junior for 16-7 sectional champions – totaling 848 points, 346 rebound and 164 blocks in two seasons at Shelbyville.

Moore averaged 13.4 points as sophomore at Roncalli, breaking school blocks record (66 in season). His three-year varsity totals are 1,108 points and 230 blocks. Moore was also named to the Indianapolis Star all-metro team twice, a Street and Smith high honorable mention, USA Today Top 10 Indiana player, North-South and East-West All-Star participant and McDonald’s All-American nominee.

He played nine games due to illness as freshman at Miami (Ohio) before playing three seasons at Missouri State University, totaling 98 games, 1,691 points (17.3ppg), 634 rebounds (6.5 rpg) and 167 blocks (1.7 bpg). Moore led MSU in scoring, rebounding, blocks, FGs and FTs all three seasons, including their 1999 NCAA Sweet 16 team and graduated with career blocks record, career FT made and FT attempted and 5th in all-time scoring.

Moore was named one of the Missouri Valley Conference’s 50 greatest players of all-time. He played for three seasons in Spain, averaging over 19 ppg and seven rpg each season.

2019 Men's Silver Anniversary Team:

Tim Bishop, Valparaiso

Aaron Brown, Knightstown

Damon Cobb, Evansville Memorial

Scott Combs, Paoli

Tige Darner, Anderson Highland

Sean Daugherty, Vincennes Lincoln

Bryce Drew (Mr. Basketball), Valparaiso

Brien Hanley, Jeffersonville

Shane Miller, Bloomfield

Danny Moore, Shelbyville

Dan Muller, Lafayette Central Catholic

Lee Nailon, South Bend Clay

Cory Norman, Jeffersonville

Joe Sibbitt, Paoli

Jamie Uptgraft, Southern Wells

Bonzi Wells, Muncie Central

LaDrell Whitehead, New Albany

Russ Yoder, Westview

Center Circle Official award recipients:

Mark Masariu, Kokomo

Rick Owens, Modoc

Steve Cherry, Pendleton