Login NowClose 
Sign In to shelbynews.com           
Forgot Password
or if you have not registered since 8/22/18
Click Here to Create an Account

Shelbyville announces summer concert series


The city of Shelbyville has announced its annual free admission summer concert series for 2019 known as “Music in the Park.”

The summer concerts will once again be held at Blue River Memorial Park, 725 Lee Boulevard, in Shelbyville. 

This year’s lineup will feature a strong mix of legendary hits and headliners across a wide spectrum of genres including An Innocent Band (a tribute to Billy Joel), KIST (a tribute to KISS), Gordon Bonham Blues Band, jazz favorite the Rob Dixon Trio, and the Dane Clark Band.

“The City of Shelbyville is focused on bringing top-of-the-line entertainment each summer,” said Karen Martin, director of Shelbyville Parks and Recreation, in a media release. “Our city parks are vibrant, and beautiful, and provide fun for the whole family.”

All concerts are free to the public, family friendly, ideal for those on a date night or spending time with family or friends. Participants are encouraged to bring lawn chairs and blankets for each evening packed with fantastic entertainment.

The summer series starts on June 15 with a night of blues and jazz. Gordon Bonham Blues Band and the Rob Dixon Trio are two of the most popular acts on the scene and will deliver blistering live performances to kick off the series. 

KIST performs in Shelbyville on July 20. Starting in July of 2000, the founding members of KIST set out to launch a band worthy of the moniker “A tribute to KISS.” Basing its stage show on the unrivaled KISS shows of the 1970s, KIST derives its set list mostly from the makeup era catalogue, but does add in a few “Out of makeup catalogue surprises.”

On Aug. 16, Dane Clark Band presents a night of Americana and country music. Country singer Abigail Rose will open the show.

Hoosier native Dane Clark has been the heartbeat of John Mellencamp’s band for 23 years. As a drummer, he has recorded with Mellencamp, John Prine, Steve Earle, Ian Hunter (Mott The Hoople) and the nationally-syndicated morning radio program “The Bob & Tom Show.”

Clark is a recording artist of five critically-acclaimed album projects and a sixth project to be released this spring, as well as a recipient of a coveted Telly award for the music video of his composition “Dream Stealin’ Town.”

The music series concludes on Sept. 14 with An Innocent Band, who gives its audience an unforgettable experience through the music of Billy Joel.

The seven seasoned musicians perform carefully-crafted renditions from the Hall of Famer’s enormous catalog of hits while balancing elements of the original recordings with embellishments developed by Joel himself through years of live concert touring.