Login NowClose 
Sign In to shelbynews.com           
Forgot Password
or if you have not registered since 8/22/18
Click Here to Create an Account

Area players named to Top 60 list

Morristown’s Logan Laster, left, and Shelbyville’s Zach Kuhn, right, were recently named Top 60 Seniors.


Hoosier Basketball Magazine’s Top 60 senior boys’ basketball players for 2018-19, as compiled by Hoosier Basketball Magazine, has been released. These boys were selected from approximately 1,500 senior players statewide. This event will be at Marian University in Indianapolis on March 31.

Hoosier Basketball Magazine’s Top 60 Senior Workout is highlighted by six players who participated in the state finals. 

Six of the top senior scorers in the state averaging more than 25 points per game are also Top 60 Senior selections. Participating on Sunday is Drew Buhr, Austin (26.6) and Colin Kenney, Marquette Catholic (25.8). Luke Bumbalough, New Castle (31.2), Alex Hemenway, Castle (28.2), Wyatt Felling, Triton Central (27.9) and Will Penny, Logansport (25.4) were selected but are out of town and are unable to attend.

Division I talent on display at the Top 60 Workout will be Cobie Barnes, Floyd Central and Jared Hankins, Lawrence North (Indiana State), Trayce Jackson-Davis, Center Grove (Indiana) and Lucas Kroft, Richmond (Ball State) who are headed to in-state colleges. Other D-1 signees are Cameron Alford, Brownsburg and Jalen Johnson, Indianapolis Manual (Alabama A&M), Sydney Curry, Fort Wayne Northrop (Miami-Ohio), Sam DeVault, Evansville Memorial (Austin Peay), Zach Kuhn, Shelbyville (Army – West Point) and Windham, Ben Davis (Georgia State)

Statistical evaluation, game observation and statewide research were conducted throughout the season to determine Hoosier Basketball Magazine’s Top 60. Two sessions of the Top 60 Senior Workout will be hosted on Sunday (March 31) by Hoosier Basketball Magazine, in conjunction with the IHSAA and the IBCA, at Marian University.

Boys primarily from Northern and Southern Indiana will participate in the first session (1-3 p.m.). The remaining players, mostly from Central Indiana, will compete during the second session (3:30-5:30 p.m.).

Coach Steve Lynch (Brownsburg) will direct both sessions. Four other outstanding IBCA coaches – Jerry Bomholt (Southwestern-Hanover), Don Carlisle (Ben Davis), Mark Detweiler (Delta) and Josh Thompson (Barr-Reeve) – have been invited to assist with on-court coaching.

Both sessions are open to the public for admission fee of $8.00 ($5 for students).

Top 60 Boys

Cameron Alford, Brownsburg

Zach Banks, Westfield

Cobie Barnes, Floyd Central

Paxon Bartley, Wood Memorial

Braeden Beard, Tell City

Harold Bennett, Indianapolis Crispus Attucks

Jesse Bingham II, Warren Central

Michael Boshears, Brownstown Central

Ethan Brittain-Watts, Culver Academies

Manuel Brown, Warren Central

Josh Bryan, Delta

Drew Buhr, Austin

J.P. Carroll, Avon

Nathan Childress, Zionsville

Drew Comer, Greensburg

Sydney Curry, Fort Wayne Northrop

Sam DeVault, Evansville Memorial

David Ejah, Carroll (Allen)

James Franklin, Indianapolis Cathedral

Cade Gibbs, Plainfield

Jakob Gibbs, Plainfield

Gabe Gladish, Barr-Reeve

Zane Gross, Silver Creek

Drake Gunn, LaPorte

Jared Hankins, Lawrence North

Cayman Hayes, Terre Haute North

Tucker Hayes, Linton

Clay Hilliard, Plymouth

Trayce Jackson-Davis, Center Grove

Jalen Johnson, Indianapolis Manual

Zack Johnson, Noblesville

Ahmoni Jones, Pike

Dawand Jones, Ben Davis

Wesley Jordan, Lawrence Central

Colin Kenney, Marquette Catholic

Kayden Key, Frankton

Tyler Kramer, Southwestern (Hanover)

Lucas Kroft, Richmond

*Zach Kuhn, Shelbyville

Corey Landers, Griffith

Jake LaRavia, Lawrence Central

*Logan Laster, Morristown

Isiah Moore, Warren Central

Jevon Morris, Munster

Bradley Nalley, Corydon Central

Ben Nicoson, Center Grove

Spencer Piercefield, Center Grove

McCall Ray, Bedford North Lawrence

G’Angelo Reillo, Whiting

Jakobie Robinson, Warren Central

Brandon Scott, Hammond Noll

Sam Skaggs, Logansport

Nate Soltis, Indianapolis Ritter

Reid Staggs, Martinsville

Derrick Stevenson, New Albany

Reis Thomas, Brownsburg

Reece Thomson, Franklin

Brandon Vernon, Zionsville

Kycia Washington, Indianapolis Howe

Stephan Wilkerson, Princeton

Jalen Windham, Ben Davis

Amiri Young, Hammond.