Login NowClose 
Sign In to shelbynews.com           
Forgot Password
or if you have not registered since 8/22/18
Click Here to Create an Account

Shelbyville relay team takes first at conference meet

By KRIS MILLS - kmills@shelbynews.com

The Shelbyville quartet of Tim Clark, Elijah Sims, Tyson McKenney and Collin Miltz won the 400-meter relay on Thursday during the Hoosier Heritage Conference track meet at Mt. Vernon. 

Team scores were New Palestine in first with 135.5 points, Pendleton Heights second with 104 and Mt. Vernon third with 103.5. Delta finished with 82, Yorktown 63, Shelbyville 57, Greenfield-Central 45 and New Castle 33.

Also on Thursday for SHS, Miltz and Clark were 3-4 in the 200 and Matt Baker was fifth in the 1,600 (4:37, PR). Clark competed in high jump, as well, finishing fifth overall (5-8). Sims was sixth in the long jump and Ben Weirauch was sixth in the 800.

The New Palestine Dragons' depth carried the team. The Dragons won three individual events en route to their second title in three years. Laine Schonauer won the 400 in 50.34 seconds. Josh Collins and Kyler Harrison went 1-2 in the 3,200, with Collins winning in 10:12.94. NP's Owen Kleine, Carson Sams, Devon Whitaker and Drew Austin won the 3,200 relay in 8:20.34.

Mt. Vernon had the most individual champions with five. Dawan Langston won the 100 and 200. Brent Donaldson won both hurdles races and also teamed with Luke Rappe, Langston and Braxton Trittipo to win the 1,600 relay.

Delta's Zac Stanley won the 800 and the long jump. Milan Jones of Pendleton Heights won the 1600. PH's Nate Spencer won the high jump. Greenfield-Central's Cody Hargett took the pole vault, with teammate Tate Helm winning the shot put. Yorktown's Walker Moore won the discus.

Individual Champions

100: Dawan Langston, Mt. Vernon, 11.49

200: Dawan Langston, Mt. Vernon, 23.15

400: Laine Schonauer, New Palestine, 50.34

800: Zac Stanley, Delta, 2:00.15

1600: Milan Jones, Pendleton Hts., 4:32.37

3200: Josh Collins, New Palestine, 10:12.94

110HH: Brent Donaldson, Mt. Vernon, 15.89

300IH: Brent Donaldson, Mt. Vernon, 40.30

HJ: Nate Spencer, Pendleton Hts., 6-2

LJ: Zac Stanley, Delta, 22-5.25

PV: Cody Hargett, Greenfield-Central, 14-0

SP: Tate Helm, Greenfield-Central, 53-0

Discus: Walker Moore, Yorktown, 140-0

*4x100: Shelbyville (Tim Clark, Elijah Sims, Tyson McKenney, Collin Miltz), 43.82

4x400: Mt. Vernon (Brent Donaldson, Luke Rappe, Dawan Langston, Braxton Trittipo), 3:30.08

4x800: New Palestine (Owen Kleine, Carson Sams, Devon Whitaker, Drew Austin), 8:20.34